The Harrisburg Community Fire Department (HCFD) is a volunteer organization that serves the city of Harrisburg and the surrounding townships of Dayton, La Valley, Delapre and Springdale. HCFD is allowed 35 members by our by-laws.  We regularly conduct interviews based upon the applications submitted to fill our roster.  If you are interested in joining the Harrisburg Fire Department please complete an application and submit it to Harrisburg City Hall, the HCFD station or any active member.  Additionally, we are proud to have a great group of Honorary Members who have retired from active service after many years of serving our community.      

The HCFD is led by eight officers: Fire Chief Bill Fink, Assistant Chief Jon Loos, 2nd Assistant Jacob Schroedermeier, Secretary Kyle Hanisch, Treasurer Ryan Wolbrink, Medical Captain Emily Leuthold, Safety Captain Dan Fink, and Training Captain Terry Blackford.  

As Harrisburg continues to grow, the department voted to add a President role to assist the Fire Chief and lead the administration portion.  The HCFD President is Todd Marks.  

We have a well qualified group of members serving the community.  Firefighter qualifications include: Firefighter 1 and/or 2 and Wildland certification.  We also have responders with medical qualifications including: RN, Paramedic, EMT, and First Responder. The department holds two regular meetings each month: a business meeting on the third Tuesday and a training meeting on the fourth Tuesday.  HCFD regularly participates in our many community events: Harrisburg Days, 4th of July Fireworks, Homecoming Parade, sporting events and department fundraisers. 

The HCFD has a fleet of vehicles which includes: a rescue truck, two pumper trucks, two tanker trucks, one wild land truck (for grass fires) and one support vehicle. Funding for the department comes through the rural board, various fundraisers, and donations from the public and business sectors.

The HCFD provides automatic mutual aid to Sioux Falls, Minnehaha County, Canton and Tea Fire and Rescue departments. The community members on this department are here to provide Harrisburg with service in all emergency situations. To reach our department in an emergency situation, dial 911.

Calendar of Events

No upcoming events.

In case of emergency dial 911 immediately.

HCFD Application

Honorary Members List

Volunteer Login