The Harrisburg City Council consists of the Mayor elected at large, who shall hold office for four years, and four aldermen, two elected from each ward, who shall hold office for three years.

The aldermanic form of government has as its chief executive officer a mayor who presides at all meetings but cannot vote except in the case of tie votes.  The mayor is elected at large for a term of four years and is responsible for enforcing all the laws and ordinances of the municipality.  The mayor can make recommendations to the common council and has the power to veto any ordinance or resolution or one or more items of appropriation ordinances or resolutions.  The veto, with written objections, must be filed with the finance officer within ten days after final passage.

Previous and Current Mayors of the City of Harrisburg:

May 2012 - Present - Julie Burke-Van Luvanee
May 2005 - May 2012 - Reed Ramstad
May 1999 - May 2005 - James Aalbers
May 1998 - May 1999 - Charles Wheeler
May 1996 - May 1998 - Gary Lane
May 1990 - May 1996 - Scott DeGeest
May 1986 - May 1990 - Brent VanHolland 
Nov. 1983 - May 1986 - Armond Sailer
May 1982 - Oct. 1983 - Dennis Vickerman

Prior to May 1982 The City of Harrisburg was run by Town Board.


Mayor: Julie Burke-Van Luvanee
Ward I: Ryan Berg, Kevin Maxwell
Ward II: Ryan Olson, Danny Tank

City Council

The City Council shall consist of the Mayor elected at large, who shall hold office for four years, and four aldermen, two elected from each ward, who shall hold office for three years. 

The regular monthly meetings of the City Council shall be held at the Harrisburg Liberty Elementary Administration Board Room or other designated place on the first  and third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. except when Monday is a legal holiday, and in that case the meeting shall be held on another specified date.  Meetings may be held on other specific dates or places as set by the Mayor with the majority vote of the City Council.

At the first regular meeting after the annual election in each year and after the qualification of the newly elected Aldermen, the City Council shall elect from among its own members a President and Vice President, who shall hold their respective offices for the municipal year.

The President of the City Council in the absence of the Mayor shall be the presiding officer of the City Council, and during the absence of the Mayor from municipality or his temporary disability shall be Acting Mayor and possess all the powers of the Mayor.

In the absence or disability of the Mayor and President of the City Council the Vice President shall perform the duties of the Mayor and President of the City Council.

          President - Alderman Ryan Olson
          Vice President - Alderman Kevin Maxwell


2017/2018 Board and Departments Liaisons

  • Parks/Adult/Youth Recreation - Alderman Maxwell, Alderman Tank
  • HEDC/Chamber Liaison - Alderman Olson, Alderman Berg
  • Library - Alderman Maxwell
  • Public Safety (Emergency Medical Services, Fire Protection, and Law Enforcement) - Alderman Olson
  • Public Works (Water, Sewer, Drainage & Streets)- 
  • Planning & Zoning

Mayor Julie Burke-Van Luvanee

Mayor Julie Burke-Bowen.jpg

(Term Expires 2020)


Ryan Olson

Ryan Olson

Ward II 
(Term Expires 2021) 


Kevin Maxwell


Ward 1 
(Term Expires 2022)


Ryan Berg

Ryan Berg

Ward I
(Term Expires 2021)


Danny Tank

Ward II
(Term Expires 2022)