Planning and Zoning

Utilizing the City of Harrisburg Comprehensive Plan as guidance, the Planning and Zoning Department strives to accomplish quality growth and development.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of seven members and holds its regular monthly meetings the second Tuesday of each month, at 6:00 p.m. Meetings are held in the Liberty Elementary School Board Room, located at 200 E. Willow Street, Harrisburg, SD 57032.

The Planning Commission is involved in a variety of issues related to community growth, development, zoning and land use. The Planning Commission also serves as the Board of Adjustment when needed. 

Applications are currently being accepted from citizens interested in volunteering for an opening on its Planning Commission. Any city resident interested may submit a resume and letter of interest to City Hall, 301 E. Willow Street, Harrisburg SD.  

2024 Planning & Zoning Commission Members:



Jason Schipper (Vice Chairperson)


Matthew Irish


Bruce Bicknase (Chairperson)


Collin McKenzie  


Rob Doyen


Jim Nielsen 


 Jon Kraft



Below are links to the Planning Commission agendas, meeting minutes, and bylaws.

Planning Commission Bylaws

Planning & Zoning Meeting Agendas

Planning & Zoning Meeting Minutes

A calendar of future Planning Commission meeting dates can be found here


Speed Limit Change Map

To contact Planning & Zoning, please enter your information below: