Boards & Commissions

The City of Harrisburg is powered by great volunteers like you. Below is a list of citizen boards and commissions that give you an opportunity to use your talents to benefit our community. Your service on a commission or board will allow you to provide important input on polices that shape our government and our City. We currently have three boards and one commission that advise the Mayor and City Council on a variety of issues. We anticipate the establishment of additional citizen groups as the needs of the residents increase over time.  

Please take a moment to browse through the list. To apply for membership to any board or commission, please use the Application Form on the right side of the screen. Completed applications may be submitted in person at City Hall.


Planning and Zoning Commission

The seven-member Planning Commission is involved in a variety of issues related to community growth and development, including subdivisions, zoning and land use, and variance requests. The Planning Commission also serves as the Board of Adjustment when needed. Members are appointed to five-year terms and must be residents of the city.

Applications are currently being accepted from citizens interested in volunteering for an opening on its Planning Commission. Additional information, duties, and meeting dates are available by contacting City Hall at (605)-646-1344. 

Any city resident interested may submit a resume and letter of interest to City Hall, 301 E. Willow Street, Harrisburg, SD. 

 2024 Planning Commission Members: 

Jason Schipper (Vice Chairperson) 2027 
Bruce Bicknase (Chairperson) 2028
Matthew Irish 2024
Collin McKenzie 2025
Rob Doyen 2026
Jim Nielsen 2029
Jon Kraft 2029


Library Board fb logo.png

The Harrisburg Library Board meets on the second Thursday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at Liberty Elementary Community Room, 200 E Willow Street. 

City Council Liaison
Alderman Maxwell (2025)

Board Members:
Stephanie Bouza (2023)
Kama Konda-Varilek (2025)
Barb Patterson (2025)
Rob Doyen (May 2024)
Eve Langerock (May 2024)


Parks & Recreation Board fb logo.png

The Harrisburg Park Board meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Liberty Elementary Board Room, 200 E Willow Street.   

City Council Liaison
Alderman Maxwell (2022)

Board Members 

Scott Langerock (President)

Shannon Gustafson 2025
Chris Kuntz 2025
Taylor Berg 2025
Ryan Berg 2024
Jason Nelson 2025
Heather Stolsmark 2027
Elizabeth Heidinger 2027


Disability Awareness Commission  fb logo.png

The Harrisburg Disability Awareness Commission meets on the second Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Liberty Elementary Board Room, 200 E Willow Street.   

City Council Liaison
Alderman Westerman

Commission Members

Jim Nielsen Chair
Kristin Miller Vice Chair
Ashley Schorzmann Secretary
Kate Hamilton