HARRISBURG PLANNING COMMISSION APPROVED MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF MAY 14, 2019 HELD AT 6:00 P.M. IN THE CITY HALL CONFERENCE ROOM

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Bicknase called the Planning Commission to order at 6:00 p.m. Present were Commission members Bicknase, Groen, Kindt, and Schipper as well as Wendi Hogan, Joseph and Amanda Schmunk, Michael McMahon, Mitch Mergen, and Joe Stonesifer.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment was offered.

BUSINESS ITEMS

1. Approval of the agenda for the May 14, 2019 regular meeting.

Kindt moved, with Schipper seconding, to approve the agenda for the May 14, 2019 regular meeting as presented. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote.

2. Approval of the minutes of the April 9, 2019 regular Planning Commission meeting.

Schipper moved, with Kindt seconding, to approve the minutes of the April 9, 2019 regular meeting as presented. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote.

3. Approval of the minutes of the April 15, 2019 special Planning Commission meeting.

Kindt moved, with Schipper seconding, to approve the minutes of the April 15 special meeting with the City Council as presented. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote.

- **4.** Discussion with Mark Fiechtner about Dynamic Development Addition zoning violations.
- Mr. Fiechtner refused to attend the meeting. The Planning Commission took no action.
- **5.** Review and recommendation to City Council on a street drainage demonstration project.

Stonesifer distributed information and described the proposed project, which would be installed on the south side of Willow Street in the right-of-way between Columbia Street and Prairie Street. After review Kindt moved, with Schipper seconding, to recommend to the City Council that the proposed demonstration project be approved. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote.

6. Discussion of alternative arterial street designs.

Stonesifer distributed a proposed design for arterial streets. The consensus of the Commission was to support this alternate design as it is very much in keeping with the

HARRISBURG PLANNING COMMISSION APPROVED MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF MAY 14, 2019 HELD AT 6:00 P.M. IN THE CITY HALL CONFERENCE ROOM

intent of the Comprehensive Plan. Stonesifer also discussed several proposed changes to the City's Engineering Design Standards with the Commission.

7. Discussion of Mini-Warehouse (storage units) criteria.

McMahon provided excerpts from the current Zoning Regulations for mini-warehouse criteria. After discussion, the Commission members will review the information and bring comments back for discussion at the June 11 Commission meeting.

8. Review letters of interest for the Planning Commission vacancies and recommendation to the Mayor and City Council.

After a brief review of the five letters of interest received and hearing from the two applicants that were present, Kindt moved, with Schipper seconding, to recommend that Wendi Hogan be appointed to fill one of the current vacancies on the Commission. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote. Bicknase moved, with Schipper seconding, to recommend that Joseph Schmunk be appointed to fill the other current vacancy on the Commission. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote. Unfortunately, it was discovered after the meeting that Schmunk is not a Harrisburg resident and is not eligible to be appointed.

9. Election of Officers.

Kindt moved, with Schipper seconding, to cast a unanimous ballot for Bicknase as Chairman. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote. Bicknase moved, with Schipper seconding, to cast a unanimous ballot for Kindt as Vice-Chairman. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote.

REPORTS AND COMMISSION MEMBER INPUT

McMahon provided building and development activity reports for April, 2019. He also invited Commission members to attend the Arterial Street Funding Committee meeting at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Mary 22 in the Liberty Elementary School Board Room.

No Commission member input was offered.

Kindt moved, with Groen seconding, to adjourn. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote. The Commission adjourned at 6:53 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael McMahon Planning & Zoning Administrator