## CITY OF HARRISBURG RESOLUTION #2017-02

A RESOLUTION APPROVING A REVISED JOINT COOPERATIVE AGREEMENT ESTABLISHING THE SOUTH EASTERN COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

WHEREAS, in 1970, South Dakota Governor Frank Farrar signed an Executive Order creating six Planning and Development Districts in South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, the South Eastern Council of Governments (SECOG) was created when local officials in the area exercised their authority under the "Joint Exercise of Governmental Powers" (SDCL 1-24); and

WHEREAS, SECOG serves Clay, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner, and Union Counties as well as the municipalities located within those counties in southeastern South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, SECOG was created as a means whereby counties and cities and other public and private organizations within them may cooperate with one another to improve the health, safety, and general welfare of the citizens of the region; and

WHEREAS, SECOG promotes regional cooperation and the economical delivery of services and has been providing technical assistance to local governmental entities for more than 45 years; and

WHEREAS, SECOG's Executive Board has determined that the existing Joint Cooperative Agreement entered into in 2010 should be revised.

## NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT

- 1. The City of Harrisburg hereby approves the document titled "South Eastern Council of Governments Joint Cooperative Agreement" among Clay, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner, and Union counties and the cities of Brandon, Harrisburg, Sioux Falls and Vermillion.
- 2. The agreement, containing revisions to the existing 2010 Joint Cooperative Agreement, is attached to and hereby made a part of this resolution.

Dated this 23rd day of January, 2017.

<u>Julie Burke – Van Luvanee</u> Mayor City of Harrisburg

ATTEST:

Mary McClung
Finance Officer